FAQ

According to the press release with ARM, can eMemory explain what kind of platform is under planning and what level of cooperation we can expect? How will this contribute to your profits in the future?
  • We have been cooperating with ARM for more than a year to increase the security level of their IoT applications. ARM creates CPU IP, which is soft IP. The CryptoIsland platform that they use to work with us is of the highest security level. We have since worked together to collaborate on the manufacturing processes of different foundries, from OTP to PUF, which will all be promoted through ARM’s global sales network in the future. Customers who use this platform will also be charged licensing fees and royalties, just like a regular customer would.

How does the security IP strategy and payment method differ from what eMemory has done in the past?
  • We are currently building an open platform to promote our products. Since PUF-based security function is a type of digital design, it can be put on the open platform for download. This allows customers to do simulations and to verify the design. We will provide soft IP (circuit design) and hard IP (OTP and PUF) during the tape-out process, then charge licensing fee which includes the design service and usage fee. In addition, we will directly receive the functional IP royalties from the clients during mass production. In addition, when customers use eMemory’s OTP and PUF during their mass production processes, eMemory will also receive royalties from the foundry. As a result, the total royalties we receive will include two components: security IP royalties (paid by chip customers) and OTP/PUF royalties (paid by foundries).

How does the security platform offered by SRAM PUF and Microsoft compare to that of eMemory?
  • SRAM PUF has been in the market for ten years and their main supplier is Intrinsic ID which was a division of Philips Labs. Intrinsic ID owns the technology of error correction algorithm while the technology of SRAM owned by the factory. The SRAM needs error correction algorithm because of the following reasons: SRAM PUF is a volatile memory, when there is no power, the data in SRAM will disappear; and when you turn on the power again, the data of SRAM may change and doesn’t revert back to its original data. The volatility of SRAM PUF makes it difficult to be used as a PUF due to its unreliability. However, many early customers who rely on SRAM PUF don’t have an alternative. Therefore, we developed eMemory’s NeoPUF which is a derivative of our OTP. Compared with SRAM PUF, NeoPUF is more robust and unpredictable and offers better functionality and cost-efficiency.

    For a more detailed comparison between SRAM PUF and NeoPUF, we actually have two articles here at:
    1.https://blog.pufsecurity.com/2020/02/19/sram-puf-is-increasingly-vulnerable/

    2.https://blog.pufsecurity.com/2020/03/27/neopuf-a-reliable-and-non-traceable-quantum-tunneling-puf/

    The platforms of both Microsoft and Google are for doing cloud business. They are not using PUF for their security methods which make them vulnerable to certain attacks. We’re currently under discussion with them on how we can collaborate to enhance the security of their cloud platform through our security IP.

It was mentioned during 2019 Q4 that AMOLED Driver has entered the Korean supply chain. When can we expect the Driver designed by them to start contributing to the revenue? Will their foundry be in Taiwan or South Korea?
  • eMemory has made good progress with the OLED driver’s suppliers of South Korea’s largest mobile phone company. We currently have multiple chip projects with the Korean mobile phone company (ISP, OLED, PMIC). These projects are in various stages ranging from verification of the product, to upcoming mass production. Therefore, we already licensed designs last year. We expect that the royalties will start coming in after mass production starts in the second half of this year.

When can we see the production of CIS/ISP contribute to the revenue?
  • ISP is mainly applied with CIS chips, mobile phones, or surveillance. We expect ISP to go into mass production during the second half of this year. There are also many Chinese clients who mainly focus on ISP. We collaborated with them on projects such as surveillance, which have undergone mass production. We expect the production volume to increase this year.

The PMIC (power management integrated circuit) grew more than 15% in 2019. What do you anticipate the revenue to look like this year? Is there a chance for eMemory to partner with the 12-inch BCD process for PMIC? How would the mobile chip leading firms evaluate PMIC’s performance in the future?
  • The growth of PMIC was in fact more than 15% last year. This is due to continuous content increase in smart phones. Some of our clients are planning to migrate from 8-inch 0.13 um process to the 12-inch 55nm process. Due to higher wafer price, we anticipate that this move will increase our royalties received from each chip. For 5G application, in addition to high current and high voltage (BCD process), it also requires better performance on computing power and speed. As a result, we noticed that our biggest PMIC client added an extra 28nm PMIC to their products. Recently, we also have a new Korean client who has begun to adopt our IPs in their PMIC products.

    To sum up, we have a very positive view of PMIC in the future based on the following reasons:

    1) The unit price of PMIC has increased due to advanced processes.

    2) The number of PMIC needed by each mobile phone has increased because of the higher requirement of 5G.

    3) The Korean client has started to adopt our IP in their PMIC.

Please comment on the future developments of consumer electronics. For example, what do you expect the development of DTV, TWS, and WiFi to be like in a year or two?
  • For DTV, we expect eMemory’s IP in almost all of 8K TV SOCs this year. Our TWS and WiFi clients will design in our OTP to unify different design specifications into one version. This can help save costs of designs. At present, we already have a lot of clients who are in the design stage so we can expect to receive licensing revenue and royalties from production next year.

Bluetooth and TWS chips have already been in the market for a while. Why did eMemory enter the field now? What solutions did other clients use in the past? Why do you expect them to switch to eMemory’s solutions now?
  • When the product become mature, most clients will accept OTP in order to save the cost of masking and shorten the time to market. They use OTP to unify designs of different product models with one mask version.

It was mentioned in 2019 Q4 that 25nm DRAM will go into mass production, so we can expect to receive royalties during 2020 Q3. With that being said, are there any new DRAM projects that are currently under development?
  • Our IP not only improves the yield of DRAM but also strengthen their product characteristics. We could see the benefit during fabrication process, multi-chip packaging, and system repairing by employing our IPs. We expect royalty contribution increase significantly later of this year as customers increase production volume. Even though eMemory was relatively late in entering the DRAM market, our IP has the best reliability and much fast operation speed than other solutions. Currently we are discussing partnerships with multiple potential clients.

40nm OLED has already gained contribution from Taiwanese clients. How about the 28nm one?
  • The contribution of 40nm OLED to our revenue has indeed increased substantially not only from Taiwanese clients, but also Korean and Chinese clients. At the same time, Korean clients have started shipping out products with the 28nm OLED. As a result, we can expect to see the royalties from the 40/28 nm OLED to have a great contribution to our revenue in the future.

Is eFuse still available for those process platforms that are below 5nm? If so, where do you see the opportunity for eMemory’s anti-Fuse to be adopted in advanced process nodes? If not, where do you expect mobile phone APs to adopt eMemory’s anti-Fuse?
  • We always keep up with the development pace of technology nodes to catch up with foundry’s most advanced process platform. Since there are only few mobile AP clients in the world which used to cooperate with foundries at an early development stage. We are continuing working hard to find the entry points. In addition to do simple settings, the function of eFuse should include security. However, it is obvious that eFuse is not a sufficient security option. To address this concern, we have PUF. Since our PUF is derived from OTP, clients can easily add PUF to OTP without taking too much extra space. If AP clients want to enhance the security level of their products, we would suggest that they adopt the use of PUF.

Who are your competitors in the Hardware Security IP area? Do you think there are competitors who can surpass your progress in the future?
  • Our products are PUF-based hardware security IPs. The demand for Hardware security IP is beginning to increase because people are starting to realize it can provide a higher level of security protection than software security. PUF is the unique property of the chip which comes from variations in the manufacturing process and results in a unique fingerprint for the chip. This fingerprint can then be used as a random number generator to create a key that protects the data stored in chips, as well as the communication between chips. One of eMemory’s competitive advantage is NeoPUF which is derived from NeoFuse. Having developed more than 400 platforms in 24 wafer foundries around the world, we have a wealth of experience that no other company can compete with. On top of that, we continue to add at least 20 more process platforms every year. In addition, our business model is based on charging royalties from the foundries where our NeoPUF and NeoFuse Platform are built, and most of our development costs are absorbed by our foundry partners. Therefore, at present, our business model and wide spread of processes platforms provide a very big advantage for us to surpass our competitors in this field.

FAQ

公司發佈跟 ARM 的新聞稿可否說明合作的平台和應用可到什麼程度?未來對獲利有什麼貢獻?
  • 我們跟 ARM 的新聞稿是雙方一起撰寫並同意一起發的。我們跟 ARM 的合作已經有一年多了,主要是因爲 ARM 想要提高它們在物聯網應用的 security 等級,ARM 是做 CPU IP,算是 soft IP,他們與我們合作的 CryptoIsland 是最高等級的 security 平台,我們已經在不同代工廠的製程開始合作,從 OTP 到 PUF,未來會透過 ARM 的全球銷售網絡ㄧ起推動。對於採用此平台的客戶,我們同樣收取授權金與權利金,與其他客戶是ㄧ樣的。

在 security IP 的策略跟收款方式跟過去有什麼不一樣?
  • 我們是建立 open platform 的方式來推廣,PUF-based security IP 是數位設計,所以可以放到 open platform 讓客戶做 simulation 和設計的認證,在客戶 tape-out 時提供 soft IP (電路設計) 跟 hard IP (OTP & PUF),在這個過程中我們會收取授權費。授權費是包括了設計服務和使用費,也會在客戶量產時,直接跟客戶收功能IP的權利金。另外,客戶用力旺的 OTP 跟 PUF 在代工廠量產時,力旺也會跟代工廠收取權利金,所以會有 security IP 的權利金 (由晶片客戶給付) 及 OTP/PUF 的權利金 (由晶圓代工廠給付)。

SRAM PUF 或 Microsoft 提供的 security 製程平台跟力旺的 security 落差在哪裡?
  • SRAM PUF 在市場上已經十幾年,主要業者是 Intrinsic ID,是飛利浦實驗室分出來,他們的技術是 error correction 演算法,SRAM 的技術是工廠的,為什麼會需要 error correction 演算法,因為 SRAM 是 volatile memory,沒電的時候,特徵點會消失,下次通電再出來的特徵點會改變,客戶使用上很麻煩且不容易使用,所以需要很多 post processing (如 voting、error correction、helper data、anti-aging 等),造成客戶不願意去使用。早期使用 SRAM PUF 的客戶因為沒有其他的 solution。我們的 NeoPUF,是我們的 OTP 的衍生體,是我們自己的技術,相較 SRAM PUF,可兼顧穩定性與不可預測性,提供更好功能及最佳的成本效益。

    我們有兩篇文章詳細的介紹 SRAM PUF 和 NeoPUF 的差異:
    1.https://blog.pufsecurity.com/2020/02/19/sram-puf-is-increasingly-vulnerable/

    2.https://blog.pufsecurity.com/2020/03/27/neopuf-a-reliable-and-non-traceable-quantum-tunneling-puf/

    Microsoft 和 Google 的平台是為了要做 cloud 的生意,他們目前的 security 方案,没有使用 PUF,安全效能較差,我們也正跟對方在討論未來可能的合作方式,希望能藉由對方平台導入,提升我們 security IP 的滲透率,也加強雲端平台的安全防護。

2019 第四季法說有提到 AMOLED Driver 有打進韓國供應鏈,什麼時候可以看到韓系手機廠設計的 Driver 會開始貢獻營收?Foundry 是投台灣還是韓國?
  • 力旺在 OLED 從前年開始跟韓國最大手機廠的周邊 IC 廠合作後有不錯的進展,現在我們跟韓系手機廠已經有不只一個晶片項目在進行 (ISP, OLED, PMIC),從實際產品的驗證到即將進入量產階段都有,所以營收的貢獻在去年已經有了設計授權費用,今年下半年可望因爲晶片進入量產而有權利金收入。

CIS/ISP 什麼時候量產可以看到營收貢獻?
  • ISP 主要是搭配 CIS 晶片、手機或是監控上的使用。ISP 是對應比較高階的手機的影像處理晶片,預期今年下半年會進入量產階段。CIS/ISP 應用跟 OLED 應用一樣,對我們相當重要的進展,這部分在接下來幾年會有明確的貢獻。在大陸只做ISP的客戶也不少,我們跟這些大陸公司都有在進行合作,比如,用在 surveillance 監控器上,這部分去年有量產權利金,今年的量會更進一步成長。

美系手機晶片大廠 PMIC 去年營收貢獻超過 15% YoY,今年會怎麼看?力旺 IP 在 12 吋 BCD 製程 for PMIC 是否有機會?手機晶片大廠在未來怎麼看待 PMIC 的狀況?
  • 我們去年美系 PMIC 的成長不只 15%,PMIC 在手機裡不斷的增加,整體出貨比以前更多,隨著 5G 手機比例增加,PMIC content 也跟著增加。在 12 吋 BCD上,已經有客戶導入,會從 8 吋 的 0.13um migrate 到 12 吋的 55nm,這部分因爲 wafer 的價格明顯提升,會對我們每顆晶片收的的權利金增加不少。另外,除了原本的大電流、大電壓 (BCD 製程) 之外,因 5G 對速度及 computing power 有更高的要求,我們也看到最大 PMIC 客戶增加 28nm 的 PMIC,加上上面提到增加韓系客戶的 PMIC,整體而言,PMIC 除了因往更先進製程移動而單價提高,因爲 5G,每支手機的顆數增加,還有增加最大韓系手機廠客戶,對這部分我們的看法相當樂觀。

未來在消費性電子的發展,比如說在 DTV、TWS、WiFi 在一兩年內會如何發展?
  • DTV 今年在 8K 電視會有力旺的 solution,TWS 和 WiFi 客戶導入力旺IP的考量是利用 OTP, 將不同設定規格,統一設計在一個版本,可以省下大量的光罩費用,特別是在產品進入成熟階段,晶片價格大幅下滑。目前已經有多個客戶導入設計階段,會有授權金收入,對公司量產權利金貢獻會在明年。

Bluetooth、TWS 晶片出現在市場已經一段時間,為何公司現在才進入這領域,明年才會 有貢獻?過去客戶有哪些 solution?現在客戶為何會轉到力旺的 solution?
  • 當產品進入成熟階段,客戶爲了節省光罩成本及time to market 的時間,會開始導入 OTP,將大量不同型號的 model,用 OTP 做選項,統一設計在一個光罩版本。另外,力旺的 OTP 在 foundry 廠 22/28nm 上有絕佳的穩定度,相較其他可能的 solution,導致客戶產品移動到此 process node 時,全面導入。

根據 2019 Q4 法說會,DRAM 25nm 將會量產,今年第三季將會有權利金,DRAM 還有哪些新的客戶開發?
  • 我們 IP 對 DRAM 的幫助,不只是良率的改善,還有對產品的特性有極佳穩定度,提供在晶片製造過程,多晶片封裝,還有到系統端的修補,在市場接受度的推廣有很大的進展。我們目前的客戶導入產品的速度非常快,今年下半年會看到更大的量產的成果,也跟這個客戶有下一代 DRAM 製成的開發合作。力旺進入DRAM的領域雖然比較晚,但是因爲我IP比市場上其他 solution 在穩定度與操作速度好非常多,所以如果有 DRAM 廠在選擇 vendor 上,我們有很大的優勢,目前已經多家正在商議合作。

台灣 OLED 40nm 已經開始認列,28nm 何時會開始認列?
  • 我們在 OLED 40nm 的貢獻確實大幅增加,貢獻不只來自台灣地區,韓系和陸系的晶片客戶也都有在出貨。同時間,韓系客戶在 28nm 也開始出貨,而且權利金也不少,所以今年 40/28nm 的權利金都會對營收有顯著貢獻。

eFuse 在 5nm 以下是不是還是可以使用,如果是,在先進製程的產品上力旺 anti-Fuse 機會的時間點會在哪裡?如果不是,會在哪些節點可以期待手機 AP 會使用力旺 anti-Fuse?
  • 我們每製程平台在趕上最領先 foundry 的先進製程速度非常快,對手機 AP 來說,AP 客戶全球只有幾家,他們在很早期開發階段就已經跟代工廠合作,我們在這方面還在努力當中。eFuse 除了做簡單的設定之外,還有一塊是在 security,在對 security 功用上是明顯不足的。我們的 PUF 是我們 OTP 延伸出來的,所以我們很容易在 OTP 上把 PUF 加進去,對客戶也不會增加太多的空間,但是可以提升客戶在安全上的等級,這是我們目前對 AP 客戶提出的 solution。

Hardware Security IP 的競爭對手有誰?未來有沒有可能被別人超越?
  • 我們的 hardware security IP 是 PUF-based hardware security IP (PUF = chip fingerprint),hardware security IP 的需求,現在才正要開始,提供比軟體安全更高等級的安全防護。

    硬體安全是以製程過程產生的差異來做爲晶片本身獨特的特徵點,再利用這個特徵點來做爲晶片本身的獨特認證及做爲產生亂數的來源,借此亂數源產生獨特的密鑰用來保護儲存的資料跟晶片跟晶片溝通的通訊密碼。力旺的利基是我們的 NeoPUF 是 NeoFuse 的衍生體,我們已經在全世界24家晶圓代工廠開發完成400多個平台,每年也都持續增加至少20個以上的製程平台,在這部分全世界沒有公司可以跟我們競爭,加上我們技術平台的授權及開發是和晶圆代工廠合作,費用是晶圆代工廠提供,客户量產之後,晶圆代工廠支付權利金的生意模式,對於任何公司想做這方面生意,必需自行吸收所有開發費用,目前看來,我們有非常大的優勢成爲這個領域的贏家。